Recognition for individuals carrying out community safety work

Volunteers, public and emergency services staff and organisations working to help others were honoured on Tuesday 22 October in the latest Community Safety Awards, which were held in Farnborough.

Hampshire Constabulary and Hampshire Fire Service staff joined members of the community and local volunteers from across Basingstoke and Deane, Hart and Rushmoor at Farnborough College of Technology for the annual event, held to celebrate and award commendations for bravery, professionalism and volunteer work.

Winners were congratulated by The Mayor of Basingstoke Cllr Diane Taylor, The Chairman of Hart Cllr Sharyn Wheale and the Mayor of Rushmoor Cllr Sue Carter.

Recipients of awards included:

  • Steve Bartlett and Harry Smith, on-call firefighters and co-responders who helped save a man’s life when he went into cardiac arrest in the Hartley Wintney area, using a defibrillator to maintain his life until the ambulance service arrived
  • Marion Williams of Basingstoke and Deane Neighbourhood Watch for her contributions to local events and partnership work with Safer North Hampshire and Hampshire Constabulary
  • PCSO Lisa Atwood of Hampshire Constabulary for her efforts in making Farnborough and the wider Rushmoor district a safer place to live, work and visit, alongside her work supporting elderly residents at Stuart Jones’ House in Farnborough
  • PCSO Ben Blundell of Hampshire Constabulary for his digital engagement with the Yateley community, contributing to the public’s confidence in local policing
  • Jayne Hardy of The You Trust for her leadership of the organisation over the past five years, and ensuring a smooth transition and continuation of service when the domestic abuse contract changed to a new provider in early 2019
  • James Fox, Dave Homersham, Tom Littlewood and Alex Ford, who, as firefighters, carry out Safe and Well visits, providing fire safety advice and fitting smoke detectors. They jointly received the award for delivering visits outside of their own geographical area to support other stations in protecting their communities.
  • John Dick of Basingstoke and Deane Neighbourhood Watch for partnership working and recruitment of new members of the committee to ensure it is more active, along with commitment to reducing crime and antisocial behaviour locally
  • PS Jennifer Lovegrove of Hampshire Constabulary for developing a robust system for identifying and managing children at risk of child sexual exploitation and child criminal exploitation

Cllr Simon Bound, chairman of the Safer North Hampshire Partnership, said: “Every day, across North East Hampshire, volunteers and staff are carrying out vital community safety work which deserves to be celebrated. These individual and collective awards rightly honour all of those people who work so hard to improve our communities and make them safer.”  For more information, email or call 01252 774476.

*The Safer North Hampshire community safety team comprises the community safety teams of Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council, Hart District Council and Rushmoor Borough Council. The three teams are the first in Hampshire to join forces to be more efficient, flexible and cost-effective.

Share this page